Southern European Countries Sign Cooperation Agreement on Access to Medicines

Six southern European countries; Malta, Portugal, Cyprus, Greece, Spain and Italy; have signed a cooperation agreement today (9th May 2017) in Valletta to increase access to medicines and other health technologies. Other countries can join the group at a later stage.

The six southern European countries committed “to cooperate in a fair, supportive and transparent manner,” the Portuguese health ministry said in a statement.

This is the latest bloc of countries collaborating to negotiate and eventually buy expensive medicines as a bloc, after BENELUXA — which includes Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg and Austria, and ROBU — Romania and Bulgaria.

Cyprus will host a meeting of the committee in Nicosia with the participation of three representatives from each country, Cyprus Mail reported.

Tagged with

Published on 9. May 2017 in News EU, News Italy, News Spain