Parliamentary Select Committees

The chairs of the Select Committees in the House of Commons have been elected, but the full membership will not be decided until Parliament returns after the summer recess. This means that these Committees are unlikely to resume their work until October 2017.
From a life sciences viewpoint, the two most important Committees are the Health Committee, where Dr Sarah Wollaston, a Conservative MP, has been reelected as Chair, and the Science and Technology Select Committee, which has a new chair in Norman Lamb MP. The latter is a Liberal-Democrat MP who was the Party’s Health Spokesman from 2006-10 and was for three years a Junior Minister in the Department for Energy and Climate Change in the coalition government.
The three other Committees of interest are chaired by Labour MPs:
  • Public Accounts Committee  – Meg Hillier MP (re-elected)
  • Exiting the European Community Committee  – Hilary Benn MP (re-elected)
  • Business, Enterprise and Industrial Strategy Committee  – Rachel Reeves MP (a new Chair)
In the House of Lords, which has its own Science and Technology Committee, Lord Patel has been appointed as the new Chairman and its full membership can be accessed here.

Tagged with

Published on 20. July 2017 in News UK