Nineteen Countries Bid to Host the European Medicines Agency

The European Council of the European Union has received 27 proposals by the member states, related to 23 cities, to host  the EU agencies currently based in the UK, including 19 offers to host the European Medicine’s Agency.

European Medicines Agency

These are the cities proposed to host the EMA, as on 1 August 2017:

  • Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
  • Athens (Greece)
  • Barcelona (Spain)
  • Bonn (Germany)
  • Bratislava (Slovakia)
  • Brussels (Belgium)
  • Bucharest (Romania)
  • Copenhagen (Denmark)
  • Dublin (Ireland)
  • Helsinki (Finland)
  • Lille (France)
  • Milan (Italy)
  • Porto (Portugal)
  • Sofia (Bulgaria)
  • Stockholm (Sweden)
  • Malta (Malta)
  • Vienna (Austria)
  • Warsaw (Poland)
  • Zagreb (Croatia)

The European Medicines Agency (EMA) is responsible for the scientific evaluation, supervision and safety monitoring of medicines in the EU. The EMA is essential to the functioning of the single market for medicines in the EU.

To read more about this, please click here.

Tagged with

Published on 9. August 2017 in News UK